Boris Johnson's Uxbridge seat to change, with Ickenham, Ruislip and Harefield also affected

Boris Johnson's Uxbridge seat to change, with Ickenham, Ruislip and Harefield also affected Boris Johnson in Uxbridge last year at the General Election. Picture by Dave Peters for Hillingdon is Here

Boris Johnson's Uxbridge and South Ruislip constituency area is set to change at the next General Election, with Ickenham moving back under the Uxbridge umbrella, if new plans are approved.

The proposals affect all of Hillingdon Borough's current MPs, including Foreign Secretary Mr Johnson and Shadow Chancellor John McDonnell in Hayes and Harlington.

Harefield, like Ickenham, will move from Ruislip Northwood & Pinner to become part of the new Hillingdon and Uxbridge seat.

Boris and candidates

General Election 2015: Boris and fellow candidates

Alterations to the area's constituencies are set to be made as part of a national review by The Boundary Commission for England - an independent and impartial non-departmental public body.

The commission has laid out plans, which the general public can comment on, before final details are decided.

There are currently 3 Parliamentary constituencies in Hillingdon. These are:

Hayes & Harlington – MP John McDonnell (Labour)
Ruislip Northwood & Pinner – MP Nick Hurd (Conservative)
Uxbridge &South Ruislip – MP Boris Johnson (Conservative)

Under the new boundaries, these will change to:

  • Hillingdon and Uxbridge: includes 5 wards from the existing Uxbridge and South Ruislip constituency, 2 wards from the existing Ruislip, Northwood and Pinner constituency, and the Ealing borough wards of Northolt West End and Northolt Mandeville from Ealing North
  • Ruislip, Northwood and Pinner: retains 6 wards from the existing constituency, and includes wards from the existing Uxbridge and South Ruislip area.
  • Hayes and Harlington: retains all eight wards from the existing constituency, and adds Yiewsley ward from Uxbridge and Ruislip South.

See graphic below, courtesy of the BCE for which wards will be placed in the new boundary areas. The number on the right denotes the size of the electorate for each individual ward.

boundary mps WEB

Like this story? Get free email newsletters via the form below

Free email newsletter
Sign up for free email newsletters direct to your inbox

Part of the existing Ruislip, Northwood and Pinner constituency - Hatch End ward – will move into
a Harrow and Stanmore constituency, which includes four wards from the existing Harrow East constituency.

The commission said that the borough of Hillingdon “was too large for two constituencies wholly contained within its boundary” and in order to formulate areas that were within 5% of the electoral quota, it was necessary to include wards from the boroughs of Ealing and Hounslow in constituencies with wards from neighbouring boroughs.

Sam Hartley, secretary to the Commission, said the proposals were “just the commission’s initial thoughts”.
He said: “During the next 12 weeks we want people to take a look and tell us what they like and don’t like about our proposals.
“Parliament has set us tight rules about reducing the number of constituencies, and making them of more equal size, and we now need the views of people around the country to help us shape constituencies that best reflect local areas.

“Use our website to tell us what you think, or come along to one of our public events to give us your views in person.”

Why are the changes happening?

  • Parliament took a decision under the Coalition Government to reduce the number of constituencies in the UK from 650 to 600.
  • Number of constituencies in England are reducing from 533 to 501, with the London region allocated 68 constituencies – a reduction of five.
  • Ministers said the changes were being made to ensure that the number of electors in each constituency is more equal.
  • The plans require that every constituency – apart from two specified exceptions – must have an electorate that is no smaller than 71,031 and no larger than 78,507.
  • Labour has criticised the plans, claiming they deliberately disadvantage its MPs but the Conservative Government said it is making each vote count equally across the country, with some constituencies far larger than others currently.

What happens next?

  • The BCE has been asked to make independent recommendations about where the boundaries of English constituencies should be.
  • It has launched a consultation. Views can be given to the BCE either in writing or in person (oral representations). The BCE encouraged respondents to participate via its website
  • The consultation closes on 5 December 2016. There will be a further two rounds of consultation in 2017. Following the conclusion of all three consultation periods, the BCE will look at all the evidence received and make final recommendations to Parliament in September 2018
  • The BCE must report to Parliament in 2018 and, if agreed by Parliament, the new constituencies will be in use at the next scheduled General Election in 2020.
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Free email newsletter

Sign up for free email newsletters direct to your inbox


Find us on...




Go to top

This website uses 'cookies' to give you the best, most relevant experience. Using this website means you are Ok with this. Click close to accept and continue.